« FöregåendeFortsätt »
List of Institutions holding Exhibitions under the auspices of or in coöperation with Scientific, Historical and Art Committees
of the Hudson-Fulton Celebration Commission.
AMERICAN MUSEUM OF NATURAL HISTORY, Seventy-seventh Street, from Columbus Avenue to Central Park West. Open daily, except Sundays, from 9 a. m. to 5 p. m. Sundays from 1 to 5 p. m. Always free. Special Exhibition during the Hudson-Fulton Celebration, from September ist to December ist. Original objects showing the life and habits of the Indians of Manhattan Island and the Hudson River Valley. (Special illustrated catalogue for sale, price 10 cents.)
Take Sixth or Ninth Avenue Elevated Railway to Eighty-first Street, or Subway to Seventy-ninth Street; also reached by all surface cars running through Columbus Avenue or Central Park West.
AMERICAN SOCIETY OF MECHANICAL ENGINEERS, Engineering Building, 29 West Thirty-ninth Street. Robert Fulton Exhibition. Consists of paintings, drawings, books, decorations and furniture, and working models of John Fitch's steamboat, the first boat operated and propelled by steam; Robert Fulton's "Clermont,” the first successful application of steam to navigation, and John Stevens' “Phoenix,” the first steamboat to sail on the ocean.
The exhibition will be shown in the Council Room of the Society, on the eleventh floor, and will be open from 9.00 a. m. until 5.30 p. m. during the entire period of the Hudson-Fulton Celebration, and from 9.00 a. m. until 5.00 p. m. daily until December 6th.
BROOKLYN INSTITUTE, Eastern Parkway. Open daily, except Sundays, from 9 a. m. to 6 p. m.; Sundays from 2 to 6 p. m. Thursday evenings from 7.30 to 9.30 p. m. Free except on Mondays and Tuesdays, when admission fee is charged of 25 cents for adults and 10 cents for children under six years of age. Collection illustrating various departments of Archäology, Mineralogy and Ethnography. Special Exhibition relating to past and present life of Indians on Long Island. Portrait of Robert Fulton painted by himself, the property of Col. Henry T. Chapman and loaned by him to the Museum. Open September ist to December 31st. (Illustrated catalogue for sale.)
Take Subway Express to Atlantic Avenue, or Flatbush Avenue Trolley from Brooklyn Bridge. St. John's Place surface car from Atlantic Avenue or Borough Hall.
CHILDREN'S MUSEUM (Brooklyn Institute), Bedford Park, Brooklyn Avenue. Collection illustrative of the fauna of Long Island. Open free to the public from Monday to Saturday (inclusive) from 9 a. m. to 5.30 p. m., and on Sunday from 2 until 5.30 p. m.
CITY HISTORY CLUB OF NEW YORK, 21 West Forty-fourth Street. Special Exhibition of Illustrations, Photographs, Maps and Plans, relating to the history of the City of New York, and all of the originals used in the City History Club Historical Guide Book of the City of New York.
COLLEGE OF THE CITY OF NEW YORK, St. Nicholas Avenue and 139th Street. Hudson-Fulton Exhibit. During the Hudson-Fulton Celebration and for some weeks thereafter, the College of the City of New York will have on exhibition in its historical museum a collection of charts, views, manuscripts and relics representing old New York. Among the charts will be original prints of New Netherlands and New Amsterdam by Nicholas J. Visscher, about 1650; N. Visscher, 1690; Lotter's “New Jorck," 1720; contemporary plans and views of the Revolutionary period showing the movements of Washington and Howe in this vicinity during the Campaign of 1776; Revolutionary battle relics ; portraits, residences and letters of old New Yorkers; bronze busts of Washington, Lincoln and Fulton by Houdon and Volk; and other material suggested by the celebration.
Take Sixth Avenue Elevated Railway to 140th Street, or Broadway Subway to One Hundred and Thirty-seventh Street.
DEPARTMENT OF PARKS, BOROUGH OF BROOKLYN. Through the courtesy of Commissioner Michael J. Kennedy and his assistant arboriculturist, J. J. Levison, the different species of trees have been labeled in Prospect Park, from the Plaza to the Willink Entrance; in Bedford Park; in Highland Park, and in Tompkins Park. An additional small enameled sign has been hung on those labeled trees that were indigenous to the Hudson River Valley in 1609. The special label reads: “This species is a native of the Hudson River Valley."
FRAUNCES TAVERN, 54 Pearl Street, near Broad Street. Historic Revolutionary Building. Built in 1719. Scene of Washington's farewell to his officers on December 4, 1783. Restored December 4, 1907, by the New York Society of the Sons of the Revolution. Open daily, except Sundays, from 9 a. m. to 6 p. m. Special Exhibition of Revolutionary Relics by the New York State Society of the Sons of the Revolution, who are the owners of that historical building, September 15th to November ist.
Take Subway to Bowling Green Station, or Third Avenue Elevated Railway to Hanover Square Station, or Broadway surface cars.
LONG ISLAND HISTORICAL SOCIETY, corner of Pierrepont and Clinton Streets, Brooklyn, between Brooklyn Bridge and Borough Hall. Open daily, except Sundays, from 8.30 a. m. to 6 p. m. Reference library of 70,000 volumes; manuscripts, relics, etc. Autograph receipt of Robert Fulton and original manuscript volume of Danker's and Sluyter's “Journal of a Voyage to New York in 1679-80."
Take Subway to Borough Hall, Brooklyn; Third Avenue Elevated Railway to Brooklyn Bridge, connecting with Bridge cars; or surface cars to Bridge.
METROPOLITAN MUSEUM OF ART, Central Park East. Main entrance on Fifth Avenue at Eighty-second Street. Open daily, except Sundays, from 10.00 a. m. to 6.00 p. m.; in winter to 5.00 p. m.; Saturdays to 10.00 p. m.; Sundays from 1.00 to 6.00 p. m. On Mondays and Fridays an admission fee of 25 cents is charged, except to members and copyists. Collections illustrating all departments of Art and Archäology. Special Exhibition of a magnificent Collection of over 130 of the works of Old Dutch Masters, constituting the finest Exhibition of this kind ever made. Products of Colonial Art: Industrial Art, Furniture, Pewter of the 17th and 18th centuries, etc. (Two illustrated catalogues for sale, one of Dutch Exhibit and one of Colonial Arts; price 10 cents each. Also finely illustrated edition de luxe.)
Take Fifth Avenue stages or Madison Avenue surface cars to Eighty-second Street, one block east of Museum; connection with Subway at Forty-second Street, and with Elevated Railway and West Side surface cars at Fifty-ninth Street.
NATIONAL ARTS CLUB, Twentieth Street near Irving Place (Gramercy Park). This house was formerly the residence of Samuel J. Tilden, and is situated one block east of the birth-place of Ex-President Roosevelt. Open daily from September 20th to about October 18th, 1909, from 9 a. m. to 10 p. m. Special Loan Exhibition by the National Arts Club, in co-operation with the American Scenic and Historic Preservation Society, under the management of the New York Zoological Society.
Three centuries of New York City: Special Exhibition of Paintings, Photographs, Drawings and other interesting materials, illustrating the growth and progress of New York from the time of Henry Hudson to the present day. (Catalogue for sale.)
Take Fourth or Madison Avenue surface cars to corner of Fourth Avenue and Twentieth Street, one block west of Club-house. Subway Station at Eighteenth Street and Fourth Avenue, three blocks away.
NEW YORK AQUARIUM, in Battery Park. Open daily, including Sundays, from 9 a. m. to 5 p. m. until October 15th. (October 16th to April 14th, from 10 a. m. to 4 p. m.) This building was erected in 1807 by the United States Government as a fort and after the War of 1812 was called Castle Clinton; later, as Castle Garden, it was the scene of Jenny Lind's triumphs, and from 1855 to 1890 it was the portal of the New World for 7,690,606 immigrants. This is the largest aquarium in the world and contains a greater number of specimens and species than any other. All tanks containing fish indigenous to the Hudson River will be so marked.
Take Elevated Railway to Battery Place Station, or Subway to Bowling Green Station; also reached by all surface cars which go to South Ferry.
NEW YORK BOTANICAL GARDEN, Bronx Park. Museums open daily, including Sundays from 10 a. m. to 5 p. m.; Conservatories from 10 a. m. to 4 p. m. Grounds always open. In the Grounds and Conservatories exhibits of Plants, Shrubs, Trees, and Natural Woodland; in the Museums, Plant Products utilized in the Arts, Sciences and Industries. All plants growing on Manhattan Island and Hudson River Valley at the time of Hudson's arrival are marked with the letter “H.” (Special illustrated catalogue for sale.)
Take Third Avenue Elevated Railway to Bronx Park (Botanical Garden). Subway passengers change at 149th Street; also reached by Harlem Division of the New York Central Railroad from Grand Central Station, Fourth Avenue and Forty-second Street.
NEW YORK GENEALOGICAL AND BIOGRAPHICAL SOCIETY, 226 West Fifty-eighth Street, beiween Broadway and Seventh Avenue. Open daily, except Sundays, from 10.00 a. m. to 5.00 p. m.,.until November ist. Special Exhibition of old Deeds, Manuscripts, Books, Portraits, etc., relating to the history of the United States up to and including the War of 1812. (Catalogue for sale.)
Take Broadway surface cars to corner of Fifty-eighth Street. Subway station at Columbus Circle (Fifty-ninth Street), two blocks distant; Sixth Avenue Elevated station at Ninth Avenue and Fifty-ninth Street, three blocks away.
NEW YORK HISTORICAL SOCIETY, corner of Seventy-seventh Street and Central Park West. September 25th to October 30th, open daily from 9 a. m. to 5 p. m. Robert Fulton Exhibition, of the New York Historical Society, in co-operation with the Colonial Dames of America. (Catalogue for sale.)
Take Sixth Avenue Elevated Railway to Eighty-first Street and Columbus Avenue, or surface cars traversing Central Park West; also reached by any Columbus Avenue surface car to Seventy-seventh Street.
NEW YORK PUBLIC LIBRARY, Lenox Branch, Fifth Avenue and Seventy-second Street. Open daily, except Sundays, from 9 a. m. to 6 p. m. Special Exhibition of Prints, Books, Manuscripts, etc., relating to Henry Hudson, the Hudson River, Robert Fulton, and Steam Navigation. (Special illustrated catalogue for sale; price 10 cents.)
Take Fifth Avenue Stages, or Madison Avenue surface cars to Seventysecond Street, one block east of Library; connection with Subway at Grand Central Station and with Elevated Railway and West Side surface cars at Fiftyninth Street.
NEW YORK ZOOLOGICAL PARK, under the management of the New York Zoological Society, in Bronx Park. Open daily, including Sundays, from 9 a. m. until an hour before sunset (November 1 to May I from 10 a. m.). Free, except on Mondays and Thursdays, when an admission fee of 25 cents is charged. Exhibition of a splendid collection of Animals, Birds and Reptiles. The fauna of Henry Hudson's time on Manhattan Island and Hudson River Valley will be indicated by the flag of the Hudson-Fulton Celebration. (Special illustrated catalogue describing same for sale.)
Take Subway trains marked "Bronx Park Express” to terminus at 180th Street, or Third Avenue Elevated to Fordham Station. The entrances are reached by numerous surface cars.
REFORMED DUTCH CHURCH. The Reformed Protestant Dutch Church of the City of New York will make an exhibit in the chapel of the Church of St. Nicholas, Fifth Avenue and 48th Street, during the week of the celebration, 9 to 5 daily.
This church was organized A. D. 1628, and the exhibit will comprise articles connected with its long history.
VAN CORTLANDT HOUSE MUSEUM, in Van Cortlandt Park. This fine colonial mansion, built in 1748, with furniture of period, is one of the oldest houses within the area of Greater New York; it is in the custody of the Colonial Dames of the State of New York. Open daily, 9.00 a. m. to 5.00 p. m. Special Exhibition of Mezzotint Portraits of men prominent in political life prior to the Revolution; Wedgwood's Medallion Portraits of Illustrious Personages; Cartoons and Caricatures of political events, etc. (Special illustrated catalogue on sale.)
Take New York Central Railroad from Grand Central Station ; Sixth Avenue Elevated Railway, connecting at 155th Street with the Putnam Division of the New York Central Railroad; or Subway trains marked Van Cortlandt Park:
WASHINGTON'S HEADQUARTERS (The Jumel Mansion), Roger Morris Park, Edgecombe Avenue and One Hundred and Sixty-second Street. Built about 1760. Under the Department of Parks. Exhibition by the ladies of the Washington Headquarters Association, Daughters of the American Revolution. Open free daily, including Sundays, from 9 a. m. to 5 p. m. Special features: Collection of Colonial furnishings, objects and pictures; also the Bolton Collection of War Relics of the Revolution.
Take Amsterdam Avenue surface cars; Sixth Avenue Elevated Railway to One Hundred and Fifty-fifth Street, or Broadway Subway to One Hundred and Fifty-seventh Street.