Eleven Kinds of Loneliness: Stories

Picador, 29 juli 2014 - 32 sidor

Now available in eBook for the first time, Richard Yates's groundbreaking collection of short fiction.

First published in 1962, a year after Revolutionary Road, this sublime collection of stories seems even more powerful today. Out of the lives of Manhattan office workers, a cab driver seeking immortality, frustrated would-be novelists, suburban men and their yearning, neglected women, Richard Yates creates a haunting mosaic of the 1950s, the era when the American dream was finally coming true—and just beginning to ring a little hollow.

In Eleven Kinds of Loneliness, you'll discover some of the most influential and sharply observed short fiction of the 20th century, and find out why Richard Yates was a true American master.


Så tycker andra - Skriv en recension


5 stjärnor
4 stjärnor
3 stjärnor
2 stjärnor
1 stjärna

LibraryThing Review

Användarrecension  - bibleblaster - LibraryThing

Sadly, I am running out of books to read by Richard Yates. I enjoyed this collection, full of deftly drawn characters, keen perception of the everyday, and a dark view of life in general. Läs hela recensionen

LibraryThing Review

Användarrecension  - stillatim - LibraryThing

Does Yates have a novel about TB? All his other themes are here: war, school, depressed women, really depressed men, struggles for authenticity, attempted infidelity and so on. It's all great except ... Läs hela recensionen

Utvalda sidor


Additional Acclaim for The Collected Stories of Richard Yates
About the Author

Andra upplagor - Visa alla

Vanliga ord och fraser

Om författaren (2014)

Richard Yates is the author of the novels Revolutionary Road, A Special Providence, Disturbing the Peace, The Easter Parade, A Good School, Young Hearts Crying, and Cold Spring Harbor, as well as The Collected Short Stories of Richard Yates. His short story collection Liars in Love is also now available in eBook. He died in 1992.

Bibliografisk information