« FöregåendeFortsätt »
Loïs de Bochat, afterwards had a house. Here were also a house and stable of the de Rossets, behind them the garden of Assessor Jean Louis de Seigneux, father of de Seigneux de Correvon.
At the end of Rue de St. Jean, on the south side, and looking upon St. Jean Place, was the seigniorial residence of the de Saussures, with its massive tower. This house was strongly built, and its lower part formed a portion of the city wall, its gardens being beneath.
The Rue St. Laurent, which ran from the gate of that name to its church, there forked ; a left branch going to the Palud, a right to join the Rue St. Jean. In the latter was a large mass of buildings consisting of mansion, stables, and offices, with spacious gardens beyond the city walls, belonging to the De Charrière family. Adjoining it was a house belonging to the De Illens family, which commanded a view of the solitary tower of St. Laurent, and of the Place which led to the Gate of Mauborgex. On the other side of this place, in the Grande Rue de St. Laurent, south-east corner, was the imposing residence of M. de Saussure, afterwards councillor.
This house, distinguished by its tower, adjoined a building with massive buttresses belonging to the family of D'Arnay. Next were residences of the families of De Goumoëns, Forneret, and D'Asperling, Seigniors of Ballaigues. The De Goumoëns' property came from the D'Asperlings. The city wall, which ran behind these estates, divided them from the gardens fronting the road to the Chauderon. Noble Emily d'Asperling, wife of Noble Victor de Gingins, was the owner of one of these plots.
On the northern side of the Grande Rue de St. Laurent, commencing from the gate, were the houses belonging to the family of Carrard, and to Jean Louis Deyverdun, Seignior of Hermenches. The Bourgeois family possessed two houses here, with gardens separated by one belonging to Gabriel Louis Balay, and followed by gardens belonging to the De Saussures and the Gaudards.
Going out of St. Laurent Gate one came to the Faubourg of the Aisle de St. Laurent. On the south were gardens, stables, meadows, and vineyards belonging to the De Seigneux, the De Poliers, and the Bergiers. The properties on the north were unimportant, but the road in the rear of the faubourg
contained a large field belonging to Judge de Seigneux, separated by a pathway from a larger field of his, and from one belonging to the Burgomaster David de Crousaz.
The Rue Chaucrau ran from the gate of that name to the Grande Rue de St. Laurent opposite the church. This street was filled with a multitude of small dwellings with unknown
HAVING now examined the localities of Lausanne at the time of M. de Loys de Warens' visit in 1705, we can estimate the pre-eminent position of his family in the society of that epoch.
The De Loïs, with their relatives and friends, the De Charrières-in the several branches of Mex, Sévery, Bournens, Penthaz, Senarclens, Cossonay, Robelaz, and Crose may be said to have been the bulwarks of Lausanne society, and exercised a more powerful influence than any other connection in the Pays de Vaud.
Of course there were many other ancient and eminent families seated throughout the Roman country, who were without town residences at Lausanne, such as the Blonays—living at their mediæval castle above Vevey, and in their several châteaux across the lake in Savoy-the De Gingins de la Sarraz, the De Senarclens of Vufflens, the De Cerjats of Moudon, the D’Estavayers, the Mayor-Ramberts of Montreux, the De Joffreys, the Hugonins, the De la Tours, the De Cossonays, and the De Montets of Vevey, the Curnilliats of Nyon, the De Meleys, Bannerets of La Tour, &c.
The branch of the De Loïs of La Grotte-in 1705 living in the Rue de Bourg--descended from Jean Louis, Seignior of Marnand, Middes, Trey, and Bottens-formed one De Lojs centre, closely associated with the De Loys de Correvon (whose residence was in the Cité, behind the cathedral), with the De Lojs de Marnand (whose home was in the Rue de l'Hôpital), with the De Loys de Villardin (living in the Palud, descended from Aubert, younger brother of the Seignior of Marnand), and the De Loïs de Cheseaux (also living in the bourg, descended from Ferdinand or Ferrand de Loys, Burgomaster of Lausanne in 1557, captain of the Jeunesse, and younger brother of Jean Louis and Aubert).
1 The de Seigneux, the de Rossets, the Deyverduns, the de Constants, the de Crousaz and the Crousaz, the de Poliers, the de Tavels, the Doxats, the Secretans, the Bergiers, the d’Aubonnes, the de Cerjats, the Gaudards, the Grands, the de Saussures, the de Goumoëns, the de Manlichs, the de Molins, the de Praromans, the de Prayes, the de Gingins, the Bugnions, the Carrards, the Vullyamoz, the de Montheronds, the Dapples, the Bourgeois, the Allamands, the de Teissonières, the du Teils, the Ribot du Lignon, the Rolaz du Rosay, the de Treytorrens, the d'Arnays, the de Pluvianes, the de Chandieus, the Portaz, the Rochats, the Chavannes, the de Clavels, the Crinsoz de Dionens, the Curchods, the Arnauds, the de Montrichers, the de Illens, the Fornerets, and the d'Asperlings.
Aubert de Loïs was Seignior of Denens and Mayor of Lucens. He married the daughter of Noble Claude de Glane, Seignior of Villardin and Montet, Vidom of Moudon, coSeignior of Pralins, Domneloye, Brenles (Burrenaulx), Denens (or Dignens), and Governor and Bailiff of the Pays de Vaud by Bernese appointment in 1536. He was the son of Jacob de Glane, Knight, Seignior of Cagy, Ropraz, and Villardin.
Of this family was also Benoît de Glane, Seignior of Cagy, and colonel of the auxiliary corps of two thousand men raised in behalf of France by Count Michael de Gruyère. He was killed at Ceresole, in attempting to rally his troops, on April 14, 1544.
Humbert de Glane, an earlier Seignior of Cugy and Vidom of Moudon, having rendered various services to the Bernese and Freiburgeois during the Burgundian wars, was indemnified by the latter for the loss of his château (Cugy), which they had burned during the invasion of Vaud, by being named (November 14, 1475) Bailiff of that province, a post he held until the treaty of Freiburg, August 12, 1476.2
This name recalls the memory of the older House of De Glane, from which some have erroneously supposed that of Moudon descended.
In 778, in the time of Charlemagne, several Frank nobles, Christians, obliged by the disturbed condition of their country to seek refuge elsewhere, came to Nuythonia, which was Christian. Among them were the De Glanes, sprung from the Counts of Vienne and the Kings of Burgundy, who, taking up their residence between the Sarine and the rivulet which bears their name, reared a castle whose ruins were used for pious work.
1 Archives of the de Loys family, in the possession of their representative, the Marquis de Loïs Chandieu. (MS.)
? De Montet, i. 368.
This traditional origin of the family of De Glane is attested by Guilliman and the chroniclers, but there is no document to confirm it. The first seignior known under this name was Uldric, who in 1078 espoused Rilenta de Villar Walbert. They had two sons, Peter and Philip, who were attached to the Kings of Burgundy. In 1127 these were at Payerne, in attendance upon William IV., called the Infant, when the latter was assassinated in the abbey church. The two De Glanes, with other nobles of the suite, perished in defence of their sovereign, and were buried in the Priory of the Isle of St. Pierre, Lake Bienne. Philip died without issue, and Peter left an only son-William, founder of the Abbey of Hauterive, and four daughters-Emma, who married Rodolphe, Count of Neuchâtel ; Ita, wife of Aymon II., Count of Genevois; Juliane, who espoused William, Seignior of Montsalvens; and Agnes, who married Rodolphe, Count de Gruyère.
William de Glane built with the stones of his ancient castle the Monastery of Hauterive, two leagues from Freiburg, which, by giving-says the author of the Chronique Fribourgeoise '—the first impulse to industry and the arts, opened a new life to Nuythonia. Five years afterwards he finished his days in this holy abode, in the habit of a friar, and was buried in the mausoleum beside the great altar. His gold ring is preserved and his anniversary is celebrated by the Roman Catholic Church. His arms
His arms-gules semée with crosses argent, a lion rampant crowned azure--quartered with those of the order, are the arms of Hauterive. The melancholy inscription apon his tomb recalls the sad fate of his father and uncle :
Anno 1442, III Idus Feb. obiit Gulielmus de Glana fundator, sepultus in praesenti tumulo, cujus pater, Petrus et Philippus de Glaną fratres, anno 1126 cum Gulielmo Comite Viennensi et Salinensi, cum multis aliis nobilibus, injuste, ab injustis, in occisione gladii apud Paterniacum mortui sunt, et in prioratu Cluniacensi, sito in insula lacus, sepulti.'
| Chronique Fribourgeoise, p. 206, note i. seq. See Mémoire sur le Rectorat de Bourgogne.
Aubert de Loïs became Seignior of Villardin and Vidom of Moudon through his wife—the last of her family—and Mayor of Lucens by inheritance. Lucens lies north-east of Moudon on the Lausanne and Berne route. The village existed in the tenth century, and is mentioned in the Chronicle of the Bishops, called the ‘Cartulary of Lausanne,' in the twenty-eighth year of King Conrad (A.D. 965). It belonged to the Bishop of Lausanne. The village is dominated by an ancient castle flanked with numerous turrets and surmounted by a great round tower or donjon, whose summit commands a magnificent view of the valley of the Broie. In the centre of the tower is a cistern of great depth. A series of terraces served the double purpose of ramparts to arrest an enemy and to retain the soil on the declivity of the summit.
In the Middle Ages this was a most important point, being an advanced post to cover Moudon, which also was a dependency of the Bishop of Lausanne. The period of the foundation of the castle is unknown, but it was ruined in 1127 by Amadeus I., Count of Genevois, who was soon dispossessed by Conrad of Zaeringen, Rector of Burgundy. Bishop Landry de Durnes, during the eighteen years of his episcopate, strengthened the fortifications. In 1190 it witnessed another attack on the part of another rector of Western HelvetiaBerthold V.—who took the castle and partially destroyed it by fire; but it was speedily rebuilt by the Bishop. In the fourteenth and fifteenth centuries the Bishops of Lausanne were in the habit of resorting to it in summer. One of them, William de Menthonay, was here murdered as he was getting out of his bed one morning : his valet-de-chambre, who was also his barber, ran him through with his sword, and he died a few days after at Lausanne. This crime was committed July 6, 1406. The murderer was condemned to be disembowelled and quartered.
In 1476 the castle was again burned by the Confederates; in 1536 it was taken possession of by the Bernese Government, who held it until 1798, during which period it was the residence of the Bernese bailiffs of Moudon.