The Political Mind: Why You Can't Understand 21st-century Politics with an 18th-century Brain

Framsida
Viking, 2008 - 292 sidor
In WhatÂ's the Matter with Kansas?, Thomas Frank pointed out that a great number of Americans actually vote against their own interests. In The Political Mind, George Lakoff explains why.

As it turns out, human beings are not the rational creatures weÂ've so long imagined ourselves to be. Ideas, morals, and values do not exist somewhere outside the body, ready to be examined and put to use. Instead, they exist quite literally inside the brain—and they take physical shape there. For example, we form particular kinds of narratives in our minds just like we form specific muscle memories such as typing or dancing, and then we fit new information into those narratives. Getting that information out of one narrative type and into another—or building a whole new narrative altogether—can be as hard as learning to play the banjo. Changing your mind isnÂ't like changing your body—itÂ's the same thing.

But as long as progressive politicians and activists persist in believing that people use an objective system of reasoning to decide on their politics, the Democrats will continue to lose elections. They must wrest control of the terms of the debate from their opponents rather than accepting their frame and trying to argue within it.

This passionate, erudite, and groundbreaking book will appeal to readers of Steven Pinker and Thomas Frank. It is a fascinating read for anyone interested in how the mind works, how society works, and how they work together.

Så tycker andra - Skriv en recension

Användaromdöme

5 stjärnor
1
4 stjärnor
2
3 stjärnor
2
2 stjärnor
0
1 stjärna
1

LibraryThing Review

Användarrecension  - JeffcoHumanists - LibraryThing

Ever wonder why people are not logical and rational like you? Well they are - and you aren't as rational and logical as you think. Open your mind to the implications of keeping your authoritarian father frame instead of a nurturing parent frame. Läs hela recensionen

LibraryThing Review

Användarrecension  - kant1066 - LibraryThing

I was drawn to this book mostly because I knew of the author’s reputation as a cognitive scientist and as someone who was known for spelling out how cognitive science overlaps with, and largely ... Läs hela recensionen

Andra upplagor - Visa alla

Om författaren (2008)

George Lakoff is Richard and Rhoda Goldman Distinguished Professor of Cognitive Science and Linguistics at the University of California at Berkeley and Senior Fellow at the Rockridge Institute, a think tank in Berkeley. He is author of DonÂ't Think of an Elephant!, Moral Politics, Whose Freedom?, and coauthor of Thinking Points: A ProgressiveÂ's Handbook, as well as many books and articles on cognitive science and linguistics.

Bibliografisk information