The Age of the Dictators: A Study of the European Dictatorships, 1918-53

Pearson Longman, 2007 - 524 sidor
0 Recensioner

The Age of the Dictators presents a comprehensive survey of the origins and interrelationship of the European dictatorships. All the regimes are addressed, with ample coverage of the period 1939-45, and analysis of the Soviet government up to Stalin's death in 1953.

Exploring their ideological and political roots, and the role of the First World War in their rise to power, David Williams identifies the dictatorships as products of their time.  He examines the Soviet, Italian Fascist and Nazi dictatorships, as well as the authoritarian regimes in Spain, Portugal, Eastern Europe and the Balkans, providing an analysis of each as an entity, of how they evolved and related to one another, and to what extent they were a common response to life after the First World War.

Mindful of historiographical issues, the textbook attends to the arguments of key historians, and includes a list of relevant sources to assist students in their study of the period. Combining an accessible, succinct writing style with a broad historical scope, The Age of the Dictators is an illuminating and thorough account of a fascinating period in world history.

Så tycker andra - Skriv en recension

Vi kunde inte hitta några recensioner.

Andra upplagor - Visa alla

Om författaren (2007)

David Williamson is former Head of History at Highgate School and lecturer at Bishop Grosseteste College, Lincoln. He is now a freelance lecturer and writer. He is the author of numerous books, including War and Peace: International Relations, 1914-45 and The Third Reich andGermany Since 1918.

Bibliografisk information