Sidor som bilder

at a given signal, the new trees were all planted, each at its respective place, within four beats of drum.

After the battle of Fontenoy, the town of Paris, wishing to erect a statue to Louis XV, it was decided it should be raised on the space between the garden of the Tuileries and the Champs-Élysées. The first stone was lain, in 1754, and the statue, cast in 1760, was inaugurated in 1763.

The following year, April 12; was lain the first of stone of the Madeleine, begun upon the design of M. Constant d'Ivry; continued by M. Couture; after a long interruption again resumed, by M. Vignon, who made several alteration in it;

and it is , at last, on the point of being finished, under the direction of M. Huvé.

The Champs-Élysées were, between the years 1764 and 1769, planted afresh : and the high road to St. Germain, which till then went through the rue du Faubourg-du-Roule, was planned

to tend in a direct line to the bridge of Neuilly, then erecting by Peyronnet.

About the same time, the houses in the rue Royale were building, after M. Gabriel's designs : as also, the two colonnades which , on that side, terminate the place Louis Quinze.

As early as 1722, the town of Paris had been authorized to raise a loan, for the purpose of constructing a bridge, as a communication between the faubourgs St. Germain and St. Honoré : but it was only in 1786 that the sum of twelve hundred thousand francs (L. 48,000) was devoted to the building of this bridge, begun the following year; and, ended in 1790. On the other side of the bridge, was the Prince de Condé's palace, the façade of which, when the Council of Five Hundred sat there, was altered by M. Gisors. Subsequently,Poyet constructed, in front of this chamber, a peristyle of twelve corinthian columns, corresponding to the porch of the Madeleine.

The triumphal arch at the entrance of Paris was begun in




1806 after the designs of Raimond, and continued by Chalgrin. The works, being interrupted in 1814, were resumed in 1826; and will, now,

be soon finished. Colossal white marble statues had been ordered , by the former government, to ornament the piers of the Pont Louis Seize; and several were already finished, when the political events suspended the placing of them. Shortly afterwards, Louis XVIII ordered twelve, eight of which were placed last year : and the remaining four, will be so , very shortly.

disposed in the following order, going from the Chamber of Deputies :

The are,

On the left,
Con D6 ,° 220.
Du GUESCLIN, n° 221.
RICHELIEU, n° 222.
SULLY, n° 226.
DUQUESNE, no 227.

On the right,
TURENNE, no 240.
BAYARD, n° 234.
SUGER, no 233.
COLBERT, n° 238.
TOURVILLE , n° 228.
SUPPREN, n° 232.

[blocks in formation]

247 La Vierge et l'enfant Jésus. Léon. De Vincr. Cabinet particulier. 248 Marie de Médicis régente. RUBENS. Musée français. 249 Gouvernem. de Marie de Médicis. Rubens. Musée français. 250 Napoléon à Charleroi.

Hon. VERNET. Cabinet particulier. 251 Numa.

COGNIET. Louvre.


253 La Vierge et l'enfant Jésus. Léon. de Vinci. Cabinet particulier. 254 Sainte Famille.

A. DEL SARTE. Cabinet particulier. 255 Pestiférés implorant des secours. MURILLO. Cabinet particulier. 256 Marie de Medicis victorieuse. RUBENS.

Musée français. 257 Échange des deux reines. Rubens. Musée français. 258 Saint Louis à Damiette.

LE THIÈRE. Louvre.

[blocks in formation]

271 Abraham recevant les trois anges. MURILLO.
272 La paix conclue.

RUBENS. 46 273 Entrevue du roi et de la reine. RUBENS. 274 Femme jouant du luth.

275 Saint Louis rendant la justice. Rouger.
276 Allan Mac-Aulay.


Cabinet particulier.
Musée français.
Musée français.
Galerie de Florence.
Cabinet particulier.

[blocks in formation]
« FöregåendeFortsätt »